North Carolina's unified Judicial Branch is one of three equal and independent branches of state government. Some counties are grouped together to form one judicial district. The Eighth Judicial District is comprised of Wayne County, Lenoir County, and Greene County. Each county has a courthouse. The Eighth Judicial District is further divided into two superior court judicial districts, 8A and 8B. 

Various types of cases -- such as civil and criminal in superior court; civil, criminal and juvenile in district court; small claims; and estates and special proceedings -- are heard within the courts in Wayne County.